The Power of a Great Heroine (Otherwise Entitled: Why I Hate Titanic)

I remember as if it were yesterday. Each and every one of my fourth grade little friends talking about it. And the third graders. And the fifth. Also, the adults. They squeaked over at just how cute Leonardo DiCaprio was in the movie, and they had posters of him in their bedroom. They went to the movies over and over and over (I met a couple of girls who claimed to have gone 20 times) to watch the same movie. A movie about a ship which had sunk.

They’d bring the posters to school and talk about the movie starstruck. I wouldn’t get it. In my mind, there was nothing in a movie about a ship which had sunk that appealed to me. Especially after they’d spoiled to me that cute Leonardo died in the end. Still, after the whole fuss, I surrendered.

By the time I actually went to see Titanic, there were only a handful of theaters airing it. The sessions weren’t as crowded anymore, though you could still spot the lovesick prepubescent girl. I went with my father. Poor Guy! I’m still sorry for that one! Even before the movie started, I had a feeling how I’d feel about it. And, boy, was I right.

I remember being bored. Very, very bored. Like, monumentally bored. The whole darned movie was spent IN A SHIP. It was completely different from the movies I liked back then (like Jumanji and Anaconda — Yeah, I’ll blog about it sometime). I didn’t think Leonardo was that cute. At all. I thought he was so plain and not the kind of guy I’d want to marry (what? I was nine!). But, mostly, it was Kate Winslet’s character that completely threw me off.

Even back then, at nine years old, I knew a girl had to be extremely weak and stupid to want to kill herself over having to marry some guy. By throwing herself off a ship into cold waters. I thought her character was so incredibly weak, I was actually hoping she would die — along with Leo (how stupid is it that they both died? Does his death just does not make any sense to everyone else?). I thought she was dramatic. I thought he was boring. And I didn’t shed I single tear, after my friends swore I’d cry buckets. Because, really, those characters weren’t worth my tears.

I was nine. Maybe that was not my exact perception of the characters back then, but it was something very close it. Titanic may have been a lot of things in terms of production, but, boy, it lacked everything in character development. Even a nine year old like me could see that.

Last year, the 3D version came out. And an amazing YouTube channel came up with this hilarious Honest Trailer. I think THIS pretty much sums up the movie.

But, wait!!! The post is not over. There’s still half of the story missing.

It was that same year, shortly after the Titanic fiasco, in fourth grade, that I watched my first SCREAM movie. I’m not, in any way, comparing James Cameron’s multi-million production with Wes Craven’s slasher, though, maybe I am.

For a nine year old, the difference was palpable. I don’t remember if I watched SCREAM at nap time at school (I may as well I have, but I’m not too sure), so, I don’t remember if my friends watched it. But I don’t remember anyone talking about it. I don’t remember any fuss about it. All I remember is it having this HUGE influence in my life.

Because, at nine years old, I thought Sidney Prescott kicked ass. She was this teenager, whose mother had been murdered, and she chose not to sulk on it, but to move on. Then, she started being stalked by psycho killers — one of which turned out to be her boyfriend — she almost died, but she didn’t give up. She shot him. Right between the eyes. She was freakin’ awesome! Neve Campbell was like my first girl-crush. I wanted to be Sidney when I grew up (serial killers and all!).

And, Dewey, played by David Arquette, the geeky police office who ran around trying to get things done, getting slapped by nuts reporter Gale Weathers, was more attractive to me than Leonardo had ever been! I’m not even kidding!

The story — of course, was lacking! It’s a slasher! A classic, 90s whodunnit slasher. The actors are hardly worth of an Oscar, so overdone, but, to a nine year old child, these characters, they spoke through her in a way that no mega million blockbuster could. Because, in a way, they were much more real — like real people instead of idealized characters, built with its basis on the sexist society we live in (a guy dying on cold water to save a girl who wanted to die half a movie early? Like, really? Is that what you call a hero?). Even back then, I wanted to watch movies in which a girl would save the day.

Last year, like I said before, Titanic 3D came out. And, of course, I stayed clear of the long lines and the everlasting teenage squeaking. I’d hope for it to end someday. I hope it will. Instead, I took a smaller line, the one for Scre4m, the movie which resurrected the trilogy I loved so much, 11 years after the last one. I have to admit, I may have squeaked a little.

The years have passed, and I’m not a nine year old anymore. I no longer have a girl-crush on Neve Campbell, nor I think David Arquette is attractive. Still, I loved the movie every little bit as I did when I was nine. Because the characters still spoke to me. And that’s what matters the most after all.

So, what about you guys? What movies/characters speak to you? Are you a SCREAM fan? A Titanic fan (I’ll try not to judge ;))? Let’s talk about it!

3 Comments

Filed under Life in General

3 responses to “The Power of a Great Heroine (Otherwise Entitled: Why I Hate Titanic)

  1. Awesome! Its actually remarkable article, I
    have got much clear idea regarding from this paragraph.

  2. Wɦat’s up frieոdѕ, fastidious article and pleasant argսments commented
    at this place, I ɑm in fact enjoyinɡ by these.

Let's Chat!

