How unique are YOU?

First of all, I want to apologize for neglecting the blog. Not that I have that many faithful readers, but I know some of you have been around here for a while. I hope you’ve stayed. This is an attempt resurrection. I hope it works with this blog post!

I read it in a book. It was a thought that I’ve pretty sustained all my life, about the uniqueness of us all. Or lack thereof.

Why force them to hear the brutal truth, which is that most of us are utterly ordinary?

I posted it on all my social networks and waited to see if there was some kind of reaction because I wanted to talk about it. But there wasn’t more than ‘likes’. So, I’m writing about it.

I find it very interesting that pretty much everyone feels they’re unique and different from everyone else, like they’re wired differently somehow. It’s a mentality that is built from childhood, parents telling children they’re the most unique and special children in the world. (Personally, I don’t agree with that, I won’t be telling my children that!) Like there’s something about them that no one else has. But when you look at them, they’re just like millions and millions of people out there. Let’s take teenage girls for example. When you’re a teenager, you think you’re the most unique person in the world. You’re confused, and you think you’re different, and no one could possibly understand you. Except that… there are so, so, so many other teenage girls that feel exactly teenage girls that feel exactly like you. As you grow up, you start to realize that.

It’s almost a bizarre thing, how much of ‘the same’ people are. I look at the girls my age, and they dress the same, they talk the same, they ARE the same. It’s so weird. Yesterday I was walking with my dad and we saw about 50 girls who could have been taken one for another, because they were all… THE SAME.

I’m not excluding myself out of this. I’m not saying I’m more unique than anyone. Who am I to judge that? I’m sure there are millions of girls like me, who may not fit the above pattern I was talking about, but that are just as ‘different’ as I am.

The thing is, though, while in the great scheme of life most people aren’t really different, no one’s really the same. You have to factor in all the individualities that come with upbringing, background history, personality quirks.

And, you know, most of us aren’t cut out to do great things like find out the cure to cancer or save the world when the Zombies attack, but we’re special to our families and friends, and, to them, there’s only one of us. That’s what matters the most, I think. Even if there’s a million of us in the world.

So, what do you think, readers? Do you think I’m veering far off the rails here? That everyone’s completely unique and I’m going to traumatize my children by telling them otherwise?

12 Comments

Filed under Life in General

12 responses to “How unique are YOU?

  1. Nurhidayah Shaltes

    Hmmmm….that does makes sense. I don’t think each and everyone is unique, I am more believed that people are just different from each other. I know that I am different from other people, the way I acted, the way I think, or the way I carry myself. And when you talked about uniqueness, it is more complicated I think, it’s probably referred to people with extra-ordinary abilities :D. You know, like mind-reading or psychic (if such thing existed :p), super geniuses people or maybe people that have ‘special abilities’ or people that has 12 fingers and 13 toes 😀 Now that is unique 🙂

  2. Actually, I wasn’t thinking about supernatural abilities, though, you’re totally right those with supernatural abilities would certainly be in the “unique” category, while those without them could live in the utterly ordinary category with the rest of us! 🙂

    Thanks for commenting, Dayah!

  3. Hmmm ~ we ARE in so very many ways utterly the same and yet uniquely different. What a paradox! I agree that for the most part we are all just ORDINARY…. but is there soemthing wrong with that? And then in the eyes of our beloved relatives and perhaps friends, we are Amazing, Incredible, Unique and Awesome. Everyone deserves a cheering squad. (Look at you and that lovely baby sister of yours ♥) I’m not sure that I’ve really posted a whole and coherent reply…. but hey, It’s ME!

    • That was pretty much my point, that in the scheme of the world, we aren’t really different at all — we are just the same as so many out there. But to the people who love us, we are unique and totally irreplaceable. And, believe me, I think Maya’s the most unique and special baby I’ve ever met — LOL, but I know I’m totally biased about that 😛

      I love your opinions, D, and they’re more coherent than you probably think. Thanks for making an appearance 🙂

  4. Dear, I think that we do act alike sometimes, and that we tend to behave in some sort of ways during specific moments of our lives, but i also think that we really are different and special. I mean, that’s what makes people like us, and respect us. The particularities. I may not have comprehended this in the way you wanted to, so if that’s the case, let me know. =D

    • I think you do have a point there — that we act certain ways throughout our lives — so much that those ways change as we grow, change friends, move. But acting like wasn’t really my point, I guess, it was more like, people think they feel so different from others or *think* so different from others, but it’s like that saying, “Everything we think, someone has thought of that before.” We’re all just completely… normal…

      And, like I said, and you pointed out, it doesn’t mean we’re not special or “particular” to those who love us.

      Thanks so much for commenting 😀

  5. Veronica

    Dear, I think so much of us is ordinary – routine, eating habits, cultural traits… But I do believe everyone is unique too. No two irises are the same, no two fingerprints are the same, and no two spirits are the same, I guess. Telling the people you love that they are unique is, in my opinion, kind of irrelevant, but I do think it’s important to tell them how special they are to you. Everyone has got some potential for growth, even if it’s limited but it’s crucial to have healthy self-esteem or else no one ever accomplishes anything.

    • That was sort of my point: you are special to those who love you, and that’s all that matters. But most people aren’t unique in the broader sense of the word, or at least I don’t think they are…

  6. Laurie

    I firmly believe each on of us is extraordinary in some way, in ways we may never realize. Taking the time to notice the petal of a flower, the bend of a branch, the ripple of a stream flowing over a rock in its path – any of these make your experience of this lifetime completely unique, never to be duplicated or repeated exactly as you have lived it…ever. Contemplating the impact of a single soul, of their presence in the world – or absence from it – causes the very possibility of ordinary-ness to evaporate – as they experienced this world as no one ever has…or ever will again. There is nothing more unique than that. We are each, one of a kind.

    • Hey! I do agree that the way we live our lives and perceive the world and see it *is* unique, and that can never be duplicate. But I don’t think we have a greater impact in the world — and here I’m talking about us, “ordinary people”, not people who are, in fact, extra-ordinary and have left a mark in the world, like Isaac Newton (first one I thought of!) — than the people who know and love us, and a few others we may reach throughout life. I don’t believe there’s anything most of us can accomplish that hasn’t been accomplished before. But, that’s okay. Because, for those we love, we will leave that mark, we will have an impact and leave an imprint in their life.

  7. Truth is the most brutal thing. There are very few people in our lives that will tell us the Truth. Personally, I’ve reached the place where I know I’m not truly extraordinary. But remember for every extraordinary person–like Isaac Newton–there were many people in his life that had to support him in some way so that he was able to complete his theories (I’ve always wondered why he wasn’t at work and how he found the time to sit under that apple tree). Einstein was working in the patent office for peanuts when he first started asking questions that led to his theories. Mozart was the musical director of a church when he wrote most of his organ music. Ordinary can lead to the extraordinary. Most of us don’t see the opportunities, ask the questions, or have that stroke of genius that the afore mentioned did. Take the super-collider in Cern that is currently crashing atoms together to further the physics field. How many ordinary people worked to build that project? Someone had to mix and pour the concrete to the structure, build/supply desks the scientists sit at, make the chairs, build the computers, wire the electric, plumb it (because hey, even super smart scientists have to flush). All of those “lowly” tradesmen/women with a skill had to participate to make it happen. They may not be extraordinary, but combine their talents, and some awesome research from some very smart people is the result. But, it took everyone to make it happen. To me, that is the extraordinary part.

    As for Truth, it is the most brutal thing we have to face. Usually, us humans avoid it at all costs because then we would have to change in some way.

    As for kids, as a mother of 2, I’m astounded every day that those two unique kids are ours. A combination of both of us. They’re special and unique, and I’m very proud of them. I make sure that they know that every day because the world is a very lonely and depressing place if you’re not special to someone.

    Sorry I got long-winded, but I think that quote is rather short-sighted.

    • As I’ve said many times here, I do think (or hope at least!) that we’re all special and extraordinary to someone, to those we love, and we make a difference in their lives.

      I guess maybe, people are seeing here being ordinary as a bad thing. But I don’t mean that. It’s a completely normal thing. We’re all ordinary. That doesn’t make us better or worse than anyone. And, yes, I do agree that sometimes, ordinary people together could come up with extraordinary things. I just don’t see this *need* to be extraordinary or special.

      The thing with the quote is that maybe the idea behind it is that, deep down, most people believe they are extraordinary or special (in the sense as so different from anyone else). And we aren’t, really. Even the way we think and we feel, if we really get down to it, we’re like many people from the same social “category” as us.

Let's Chat!

