That Rare Blogging Gene (You know, that one I do not have!)

I haven’t blogged in almost two months, and I couldn’t for the life of me think about a darned subject to talk about. I mean, I WANT to blog, I have things to talk about, but it just hasn’t been happening. Finally, I asked myself: Why can’t I? To answer that, I decided to go metalinguistic with this post. That’s right, I’m gonna blog… about blogging.

I’ve come to the conclusion that blogging is a genetic thing. You know, something we’re predisposed to even before we’re born. I believe that from the time our parents are doing the dirty (or, in my case, from when my mommy picked me out at the baby store — because that’s the story she told me and I’m sticking to it, thank you) it’s already been determined whether we’re going to be a great blogger or we’re just gonna die trying. Unfortunately, for me, the latter seems to be the case.

I guess blogging is one of those things, either you got it or you don’t. I’d LOVE to be a great blogger, to explore all sorts of subjects weekly, to have an immense audience who’d seek my opinion and look up to my wisdom for enlightenment, but, for some stupid reason, I guess I lack the blogging gene. What exactly does the “blogging gene” determine, you must be asking yourself? Well, I’m glad you asked! It involves *everything* about blogging, from voice, to ability to captivate an audience to versatility of subjects, to language, to humor (most important thing, in my opinion, a blog *has* to be funny, no matter what it is about). But I think maybe the most important thing is to have the discipline to actually sit and write and blog when a subject you find interesting comes up. And that, I do not have. I keep postponing it and thinking “No one is going to read it anyway.” and end up not blogging for over a month! (Also, you can’t be a comment whore like me and blog only if you think people are gonna comment!)

You know, I don’t think I ever run out of subjects to talk about, like, ever! A professor asked me once if I ever shut up after I spent his whole class (and all the ones before that) talking and I said I don’t, even in my sleep, so, I always have something to say. But, somehow, when I blog, it feels like all the smart things I could possibly have to say about something hide and all I’m left with are ramblings. Like these here. Right now.

Okay, so, how do you know someone has the blogging gene? That must be your next question. It’s quite simple, really. The main clue is that whatever subject the tackle, it sounds natural. It sounds… smart, but without having tried, you know? It sounds just right. It’s funny, it’s simple, but strong, it’s smart, but not arrogant, it’s pleasurable to read. Really, when read see a person with the blogging gene, it feels like they were born to do just that, they have the natural, innate talent to write blogs. You want examples. Right. I knew that. Like, author Toni McGee Causey, right? Now, that’s a blogger!!! I fell in love with her writing from the first time I’ve ever read a blog by her. Her voice drew me in and I went back to read every blog that she’s ever written because, man, that woman is a blogger!!! Another awesome blogger is author Roxanne St. Claire. She has THE VOICE for a blog. Everything she writes flows so naturally and it’s funny and light that you just can’t help it to want to read more and more. I want to be like them when I grow up!!!! (They both blog at http://www.murdershewrites.com by the way. You guys should check it out!)

Like I was saying, I wasn’t born with the blogging gene, which sucks because I kinda love to blog. I love to ramble, to muse, to bitch, to rant, to vent and any more fast paced communication verbs you can think of. So, I guess I might never be a good blogger, but I might just die trying.

What about you, readers? Are you a blogger or are you gonna die trying? Do you ever like to blog? Are you gonna comment and flatter my ego a little bit??? πŸ™‚

Barbie

8 Comments

Filed under Life in General

8 responses to “That Rare Blogging Gene (You know, that one I do not have!)

  1. Archer

    Hey B πŸ™‚

    I only follow 2 blogs so definitely not a blogger. I used to love the reading portion of English class, but complained about the writing assignments so for me having my own blog would be like a torturous writing assignment.

    • Archer!!! So nice seeing you here!!! I think the first thing about blogging is enjoying it. If you don’t, that’s probably a deal killer. Now you can follow my blog and make it three. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  2. VerΓ΄nica

    Only you are able to keep me sitting here to read your blog about blogging, even though I have a terrible backache and should be in bed right now…
    Love your writing style.

  3. Asia Morela

    Well, I’m kind of in the middle. I personally love blogging, but as for capturing the audience’s interest, that’s another matter entirely… πŸ˜› Most of what I write doesn’t seem to fascinate whoever stops by (WP stats tell me my blog gets about 40 hits daily, and I don’t even get one comment per entry on average).

    I’m not a disciplined person at all, but I found that giving some clear directions to my blog (ie what I’m going to write about) and trying to follow an approximate schedule helped. I guess I’m also always hoping that my next topic will actually interest these mysterious random, casual readers… πŸ™‚

    A blog is a very personal thing, though. You don’t have to make it seem professional. It could be completely spontaneous and disorganized, and doesn’t need to tell people what the meaning of life is. πŸ˜‰ I suppose in the begginning you have to write for yourself mainly, not just for the benefit of others. Others will follow eventually (fingers crossed!).

  4. Asia, you’ve mentioned your bl0g more than once here but your name doesn’t link to it, so, I can’t get there 😦 I was seeing the stats for my blog here yesterday and I was shocked to see how many there were! So, so many more than my humble few comments. Like, 706 views for 7 posts!

    I don’t know that I could follow a schedule or determining a subject would help because I change my mind so often, like, since yesterday I’ve had two blog ideas, but how much do you wanna bet in two weeks I’ll have forgotten about it?

    Yes, I agree, a blog is personal! I couldn’t do professional if I tried. I don’t think I have a professional bone in me. πŸ˜›

    Thanks for always stopping by, and link me to your blog, for cryin’ out loud πŸ™‚

  5. Diane

    LMAO! Only you could write such a good blog about NOT being a good blogger. The more I think about it, and re-read it, the funnier it gets. I honestly wonder if you do it on purpose and only pretend to not know what you are doing(?). B ~ ty 4 the smiles… they are priceless.

    • HAHAHAHAHA… do I do it on purpose and only pretend not to know what I’m doing or do I really not know what I’m doing??? Well, that’s for me to know and for you to find out! Thank you! I’m taking it all as compliments πŸ˜›

Let's Chat!

