The Super Overprotective World We Live In

Yes, I said Super Overprotective.

But, before I get to that, I’m back. I finally have time to blog again after the Semester-From-Hell at University. I want to make this constant and fun and I hope my few  loyal readers haven’t abandoned me :)

I’ve wanted to talk about this for a long time now. It’s something that gets to me every time I see any time I see censoring of any sort, every time I read articles on how teachers should interfere with bullying, every time parents say children should not watch this or that because it’s “too violent” or too scary. Mind you, I’m not talking about sexual content here, because, obviously, I don’t think five yeaR olds should be watching HBO produced tv shows. Still… stay with me.

I remember when I was a child, and my school had nap time, during which time, us kids that didn’t want to sleep were allowed to bring a movie from home to watch with the other kids. I went there from about 6-10, and I clearly remember watching, during nap time, with my other kid friends, Child’s Play, Bride of Chucky, Alien, Jumanji, Anaconda, Starship Troopers, Scream. I know there have been more. I also know none of us kids were terribly damaged and traumatized by watching horror movies during nap time at 7 years old.

Chucky

There were blood and guts and we screamed and cried and laughed and played pranks on each other. We’d hide in the dark and scare the hell out of the scaredy cats. When the characters we liked died, we cried. We hugged when the ones we liked survived the spree killing. I vividly remember that. The teachers? They were right that with us, watching the movies and watching us kids. The parents? They were the ones who sent the movies for us to watch — we brought them from home, remember?

I remember when I was a kid  and Candyman aired on tv. I must’ve been 7 or 8. Next day, EVERY KID in my class had watched it. I think we spent every free moment we had in the bathroom gathering up the guts to speak his name five times in front of the mirror in the bathroom.

I come from a generation when kids watched horror movies and saw blood and guts and played with it. They said Candyman’s name in front of the mirror then ran away screaming bloody murder. I come from a generation when we played Power Rangers during recess  and engaged in fist fights and high kicks. And that’s okay, you know?

I come from a generation when kids would stand up from themselves. It ticks me out so badly nowadays, when people make such a big deal about “bullying”. I’m sorry, but back when I was a kid, someone messed with you, you punched them in the face, and it was done with. This whole politically correct thing of “protecting your child” and “understanding your child” only leads to children that can’t stand up for themselves.

It leads to schools doing for children what they should be able to learn to do alone. When I was a kid, we took matters in our own hands, we solved our own problems. At six, seven, eight years old, we had much more independence than I see kids do nowadays. Independence to fight our own fights.

It’s funny, because I grew up watching horror flicks during nap time, and I see  the things kids are exposed to nowadays, and, in a way, it makes me flinch. Not only because it’s oversexualized, but because  he values it brings on to children are these values of overprotection and pseudo-independence.

Me? I’ll try and raise my children on the horror side of things, and teaching them to punch back first and tell the teacher later. Believe me, it works better.

So, what do you think about this overprotective culture? Do you think people are right to shelter their kids from these “monsters”? Or they’d better just teach them to stand up to them? Let’s chat! I’ve missed you all! :)

4 Comments

Filed under Bullying, Education, Life in General, Movies

4 responses to “The Super Overprotective World We Live In

  1. Veronica

    Great text! I remember when I was about 8 I watched a suspense film and it was so tense I couldn’t sleep at night. It haunted me for quite a long time. So, I guess I wasn’t ready for this kind of film yet, but some children are not as sensitive and deal well with all that. My daughter is even more sensitive than I am. I let her watch some silly tv shows with vampires, but not a real suspense film, or else I know she will be scared. I think it’s not a matter of establishing general rules and prohibitions but knowing the child’s personality. I don’t overprotect my daughter in terms of dealing with her responsibilities and facing consequences. About “fights” at school, I just tell her that if she teases someone she needs to be ready to deal with the consequences. In general, I think she is a balanced child, not too overprotected but not totally free to do whatever she likes, until she’s a bit more mature.
    Keep on writing, your texts are a delight to read! =)

    • I really agree with you there, too, V. I don’t think parents should allow their children to watch things that will make them scared — or maybe you should,, a la my mother, who always said, “you can watch it, but if you get scared you’re not sleeping with me.” But, of course, if your child is getting night terrors, you have to set limits. I remember when I was a child, maybe four or five, I wanted to watch Island of Dr. Moreau. My mom said “Asolutely not, you’ll get scared.” Today, I probably wouldn’t watch the movie ’cause I’ve become a ‘fraidy cat.

      And, about fighting, yes. Learning to deal with the consequences, although, I think if your child beats someone up in self-defense, nothing wrong with going to the school and saying what they did is justified :)

      Thank you for the compliment and for being such an avid commenter :)

  2. Dayah

    Great article! I agree with you there. I’ve met some parents who are overly protective towards their kids, they need to have their kids on their sights 24/7. II know a parent who stop meeting her extended family because a 2-year-old boy from one of the extended families tried to hug her daughter, and in the process, tackled her to the ground and made her cried.With that attitude, how can a kid learn what’s real world is about? What’s out there? It’s not all fairies and unicorns for sure. They won’t be able to survive, mentally, once they are out there, on their own. I totally agree with kids standing up for themselves, teaching them how to be tough. Not only that, I am also in favor of letting kids cry when they want something they cannot have. If you keep giving them whatever they want as soon as they started to cry, you are teaching them bad behavior. ‘Oh, if I cry, I will get whatever I want.’ Yes, they learn how to manipulate you.
    Anyways, I enjoy reading your article, and it’s good to know that we agree on this matter. :)

    • First of all, Dayah, WOW, your English has improved so much, I’m in awe of it! It’s amazing!

      Also, I completely agree with you! Yesterday I was reading on FB about a friend who homeschools her children, and she was defending it with all her might. Which is fine, everyone has the right to do whatever they want with their children, but how can it not be detrimental to your children when your keep them from learning anything you would NOT teach them? Learn things you’re opposed to? Children are supposed to come home and ask questions that make parents uncomfortable! They’re supposed to encounter situations that parents aren’t exactly in agreement with — like being tackled to the ground and crying. Depriving your children of those is an extreme act of overprotection that will only hurt them later on in life. That’s part of growing up.

      Thank you so much for commenting!

Let's Chat!

